An Open Letter From a Dog to Humans

IMG_20170125_220100_508

Dear People,

Since thousands of years ago you have been telling us that we dogs are your best friends. But you truly don’t try to build that bond between us. There are so many such instances that you fail to understand us due to which we get punished by you, mistreated and sometimes even give us away. Please do not laugh at us because we too have feelings just like you. Wondering what it is you do not understand? Here are a few things.

  1. When you bought/adopted me, I did not ask anyone that I need you as my master instead you choose me. When you gave me that trust and hope, why you do not keep it that way. Why do you have to behave in such unloving and without any care by handing me over to your cleaners and other helpers?

  2. I am not as good in communication as you are, so do give some time for me to understand the things you have learned over many years. Don’t you think it’s bit unfair that we should learn everything at once?

  3. We never forget anything in our lives like how you treat us, the love you show etc.

  4. Things that you think good may not be good for me and vice versa.

  5. Yes! Food, water, and shelter are the basic things that we also need for our survival. But it’s not only these things that we need. We want you to spend time with us, have fun, your love and attention makes us happier. How hard it is just to sit and throw the ball. After all, we are the one who would be running to get the ball you throw.

  6. Just like you, we do not wish to be locked outside in the balcony without any shield for the climatic conditions. We find it difficult to handle extreme heat or cold.

  7. The only way we know to show our love and affection is by licking you. Definitely, we know that you would not want us to put our paws all over your clothes and make you dirty. Hence we lick because you can simply wipe it off later.

  8. If you think we are lazy, then that exactly a picture of yourself. What you teach us is what we learn. We have learned to be lazy by you and so blame you for the laziness we might show.

  9. Every time you go out, leaving me alone at home I spend my time worried and waiting for your comeback. Why don’t you show at least 50% of that kind of treatment? I feel so comfortable when you are around me.

  10. Even if I am a small breed we have bigger brain and heart.

  11. Before you bring another dog into your house, make sure you give me plenty of time to get adjusted. Do not expect me to be friendly and all approachable.

  12. When I am strong and ferocious you fear me and keep me outside. Yet you dislike some of us who might be big and huge in size but as weak and silent as we may still be in our puppy stage of our little lifetime.

  13. We do not watch TV, don’t read books, do not sit and do politics, or even go for shopping. What else do you expect from us than just lie around and doze off? Well, making us playful and active depends on you.

  14. Remember always that I have teeth that can cause serious damage to you if I fight back and when you try to hit me. I chose not to because I respect you and adore you completely.

  15. I may not remain a puppy forever. Just like you I grow old, and being old diseases are common to us as well. Take care of me if I fall ill same way as you care for your other human that you call as a family.

  16. Do not choose me to leave back when you have to shift to a different place. There is a various way to transport me too. I have stayed loyal to you since the time I was born, and that is least thing I expect from you as not to abandon me.

    You might think whatever I am asking of you is foolish, my dear human. But if you want us to be happy, protective and an active dog, you have to show us how to be one. I hope you do not mind all the things I said now and try to make changes.

3 responses to “An Open Letter From a Dog to Humans

  1. Such a beautiful letter, Saroja! You raise a lot of good points. We have taken our dogs on every move we have ever made. Trust me, I have moved around quite a bit in the last decade and may be moving again. Pets are a responsibility and a joy. I couldn’t imagine existing without one in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment