Shopping Alone Can Be Fun Too

shopping alone

Image Source

Ever tried, going for shopping alone? I know there is a lot said and proved scientifically too that shopping with close friends or family can be therapeutic and a stress buster, but trust me shopping in your own company gives you a different kind of feeling and has many benefits too.

There are some, who hate shopping and prefer to buy everything online and save the time. Mostly I agree, but it so happens sometimes, the things we buy online, cannot be accurate in details of sizes and colors, we cannot analyze the material and feel of it. So actual shopping is different when compared to online shopping. Read on if you are one of those who do not mind taking a stroll on your day off. If you are someone who hate shopping, maybe here is something that can push you to step out for a while.

To relax, going on shopping is one of my favorites and one such day, I asked my husband to accompany me. What a mistake I made? Unless you got a man in your life who loves to shop and do not mind spending hours, which I doubt men are made that way. I’ am sure most women will understand why my day of shopping turned out to be such a disaster. I ended up buying a dress I never wore to this day and then I forgot to visit those shops which I had in mind and I actually did not shop for ME which is exactly what I wanted to do before leaving the house. Well, since then I decided to go on shopping all by myself once in a while even though I had no list of things to buy.

So here are some of my reasons as why shopping can be fun when it is done alone sometimes. Not that I don’t like to go out with friends or a family member. That is a different kind of an experience but enjoying your own company is something which you definitely need to try.

1.Shop on your own Schedule

I like to visit many shops, compare rates and then buy before I make a purchase. I know, it can be time-consuming and sometimes even boring for the person who might be accompanying me. But, it will not be a problem when you go alone. You are free to go whichever shop you want to and spend how much ever time you like of course unless the shopkeeper gets irritated. You know some shopkeepers hate to take every piece out of their shelves and you end up not liking any of them, oops! That can be such a waste of energy and time for all. Yet, you are free to look at your pace.

2. You get to buy for yourself

When you are accompanied by someone, it so happens your friend/family remembers exactly the same moment that he or she wanted to check out a new brand/product released in the market and now, is the time to check it out while you invited them for shopping. Which, actually you never wanted to check out, but you cannot say no because she/he agreed to join you in the first place when you invited. Is your mind screaming you would have been better off going on your own to shop something for yourself? I know, that exactly what I was talking about.

3. Buy what you like

It is really nice when we have someone to suggest what looks nice on us and what does not and if the color suits us or not. But many times we end up still putting our heart into one and buying another just because our partner in shopping said so. To avoid those aftermath shopping tears, it is best to go alone, buy what it feels best for you. Well, we after-all learn from our mistakes, if what you bought turns out to be not so good in the lights and surroundings of home.

4.The feeling of freedom

Shopping alone gives you a sense of freedom that makes you feel independent. Right from the start, going by yourself, making your own decision as which shop to visit and what item best suits you, everything makes up for an independent thinking. The feeling of being independent gives a kind of high feeling and makes you more fun to be around.

5.You Don’t have to shop anything

window shopping

Image Source

Once I went shopping with a friend and I ended up not buying anything because the few number of shops I saw did not have what I wanted and the other few had what I was not looking for. So, what I did instead is just window shop. I just went around all the place and shops and came back home without a single shopping bag in hand. But, that did not sit well with my friend as she thought it was a waste of time. Where as for me it was relaxing. So I guess I will vote to go alone for shopping the next time and you should give it a try too.

That’s said, some of my reasons to shop alone once in a while, I hope most of you agree with me and if at all you decide to shop alone, do not forget to share your experiences in the comments section.

5 responses to “Shopping Alone Can Be Fun Too

  1. Saroj, I have also started loving to shop alone
    Once in a while because I will be free to spend time in choosing good ones…
    And here there is no force in buying something in a hurry
    Which we usually do while we are with someone !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi. I’ve nominated you for a Bloggers Recognition award, the info is at: https://senczyszak.com/2016/08/06/bloggers-recognition-award/
    Completely voluntary, you may have a virtual shelf full of these already. If you choose to recognize the award, here are the rules to the nomination….
    To accept your award You Must :
    (1) write a post to show your Award
    (2) Acknowledge the Blogger that nominated you
    (3) Give a brief story about how you get started blogging
    (4) Give two pieces of Advice for new bloggers
    (5) Nominate the deserving 15 bloggers
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

